Last 100k Hands

Last 100k Hands
Last 100k Hands

Tuesday, 30 March 2010

A blog

Just so that I have a blog really, everything I needed to say I said earlier. Avoiding RE, creativity, being aware of regs and adding to dossier all important.

Sunday, 21 March 2010

BW

I just watched a BW vid. He plays very very differently to me, but I think I can take some things from it. Basically just avoiding tough tough spots and being value obsessed. I think that I've played with people long enough that I can afford to be a bit unbalanced, and think that on the whole I should probably heed some advice in marginal spots.

Hmm.

Saturday, 20 March 2010

I've done a ........

Decent job of not playing when in good condition the last few days. It's 23:55 now and I think I'm good to go. $1300 won yesterday in a goodish session. Same technical focusses as always; representing hands, being aware of reg tendencies, and application.

Friday, 19 March 2010

Win Win Win

My newfound attitude of 'I will definitely win' seems to be working! I probably had one hand that I'm not overproud of in that last session, and I should've stopped as soon as I felt light headed towards the end. But, another $1300 banked so must be doing something right.

Going to play soon, but feeling pretty light headed so going to wait for a little while first.

dan

Another Win

No real technical problems to come out of it, although I did bluff catch when I didn't beat all bluffs.......... more print money today please.

Thursday, 18 March 2010

Recovered

........ won $3k. Good work all in all, had a fair few draw on turn spots that I managed to get away from, and overall just played really aggro and solid. Report card based on the things I talked about last blog was all good as well.

It's 4.30am, I'm going to play 45 minutes or so, see if I can't dig something else out for the night........

Report Card

I dropped $2k in the session. Strange, just, very strange. There's certainly some technical aspects I need to work on. The big mistakes this session were CRAI the turn with flush draws. These days, TBH, I just don't see the FE in doing this. I think in a lot of cases I just literally have to c-fold to a big bet. I'm fine doing this of course.

Secondly, I just need to check back 2nd pairs IP. I fret about balance and my hand being face up, but just so long as I throw in plenty of delayed cbets with air, and the occasional top pair hand then it should/ will be fine. OOP vs players like Riker Crystal, I should probably be checking also given he raises every flop.

3bet KK pf is an obvious one, although, situationally I would've lost less.

Onwards....... report card for next session is about repping hands, application, and the above technical aspects.

At Some Point.........

I need to analyse this hand from gam3player's point of view, and also from mine in terms of the river spot.

Good session just played, printed money anyway...... now for more.

Time To Print Money

Ok, the time for evaluation, assessment, re-assessment is over. It's time I used what I've found about myself to get some momentum going. So, as from now, there are no more fresh starts or complete refreshments of my ideals and goals; instead, I'm going to play, and win money. Then I'll study the hands, think over things, and then win more money.

Rinse, repeat.

Three things: what am I representing, and application. Application application application.

Starts here......

Tuesday, 16 March 2010

Report Card Time

I have to believe that the session I just played was a blip. It was a blip in so many ways; my recovery from Saturday, the fact the tables were lagging so badly, my foray into 5-10. All these things contributed to a 3k loss. I'm NOT the type to sulk about this, rather, I've spent the last 90 minutes studying around poker and making plans to fix it.

At the moment, I really need to concentrate on 3 key things.
  • Always representing hands.
  • REALLY getting inside of opponent's heads.
  • Avoiding hero calls where I don't beat all bluffs.

So, I'm going to play a session now. I don't know how long for...... but afterwards I'll be reviewing all losses based on the above 3 criteria. Any losing hands I can't attribute to the above, then I'll consider what leaks I need to be considering for future report cards.

dan

Second Session Unsuccess

Dropped $686 in 302 hands of 200nl. Not too much to say, I could certainly have played some hands better, and levelled myself quite hard towards the end, but in hindsite my condition probably wasn't great still.

Plenty of 400nl today, looking at probably 6 hours play and 2k hands. I think I'm going to do quite well........

Monday, 15 March 2010

First Session Success

So, under the two alter egos of grog and cat I ended up playing 11 hours, with a small break in the middle. After dropping $4k as Grog , which caused all this commotion, I played 5 more as Cat. I won $6013 in 2000 hands of 400nl. Now, I ran hot, but also played extremely well.

When I make it my main goal to constantly evaluate and re-evalutate what I'm trying to represent, then poker seems easy. No ridiculous bluffs repping nothing, but still plenty of effective ones repping lots.

I haven't played all of Sunday and Monday, due to a paricularly rough Saturday night drinking. That's the last time I plan to drink in a very long while- this one was basically a celebration of the $6k turnaround effort.

2.40am Tuesday morning, can't sleep, so going to play 200nl until I feel it's not working. My goals remain the same, as outline in my first post.........

dan

Friday, 12 March 2010

Long Live the Cat

It might seem a little self obsessed, or narcissistic, to arbitrarily believe I can just ‘kill off’ grogheadflow and start afresh. For me, I think it’s necessary though. I can’t easily explain why, but it’s as though everything I do in poker is seen through a prism of my former success, and that of being a Leggo coach to whom consistently excellent results, achieved through the craziest of styles, are expected. I feel a little like some sort of a caricature of an imbecile wannabe fraud, to be quite frank. With the amount of pressure I put myself under, I don’t want any additional pressures to impact one iota on my game from now on.

I’ve removed 2p2 and leggo from my internet home pages, and don’t plan to visit either for a long while. Maybe never again, who knows. Does this mean I’m not a leggo coach any more? Well, I wouldn’t go that far, however I just need to stay away from such online environments for the foreseeable future, and I doubt anyone will notice I‘m not around. This means I’ve turned off chat as well, with the goal of ensuring I am completely single minded and focussed on achieving my goals.

What are my goals? Well, the main goal is obviously to completely crush the midstakes game. I don’t mean just beat it for 3ptbb/100, I mean utterly smash it, as I’ve done in the past for 12 consecutive months. Achieving this goal though means to achieve lots of smaller goals along the way.

I’ve already come quite far in a number of things, but today everything has been redefined. My goals every session are to play with utter concentration, while at the same time possessing the playfulness and fuck-with-everyone attitude that I believe are so key. I need to have pride when I play, and constantly remember to represent hands. This means trying to keep my ranges as wide as possible throughout the hand to keep all options open.

I’ve written all these down anyway, and will read my goals and repeat before every session. I’ve also started doing some work on categorising regulars, just some basic stuff at first, as you can see from the pic:





So the constant representing of hands, and the need to base my decisions on these categorisations, are what will drive my play from now on.

I’ve included my last 100k hands, that will be updated daily. As you can see, it’s currently blank. Catwotisadog has no previous playing history.

dan